Eram (Raktatirtha)

Category Historic

This famous place of sacrifice located at 16 km away from Basudebpur of Bhadrak district. One side of this land is bounded by the Bay of Bengal and the other three sides are surrounded by two rivers the Gameye and Kansabansa. Secured by these natural boundaries this place is used as a citadel by the freedom fighters. Due to these natural boundaries it is not so easy for the police and the administrative persons to enter in to this place. More over there is an open field bounded by three sides with one gate in its north east direction, which was used by the freedom fighters as a place of public meeting. Starting from 1920 prominent nationalist leaders of ODISHA like Utkalmani Gopabandhu Das and Utkal Kesari Dr. H.K. Mahatab perform public meetings at that place for several times to propagate the Gandhian ideals of freedom struggle. The Unpleasant Incident During the time of Quit India Movement this field of Eram was frequently used by the freedom fighters for public meeting and agitation against foreign rulers. On 28th September 1942 there was a huge gathering at that place. Afraid by this gathering a police force from Basudebpur police station, lead by DSP Kunjabihari Mohanty march towards Eram. As like Jaliyanawalawag here DSP Kunjabihari Mohanty acted as General Dayar and opened fire to the huge gathering at 6.30 pm, who were performing the agitation against the foreign rulers in a peaceful way. Since the field was bounded from three sides therefore no one able to get escape as of the field and within some minutes 28 persons get dead on the spot and 56 get injured, another person among the injured get dead later on. Among the dead include one woman named Pari Bewa, who is regarded as the only lady martyrs of ODISHA. Here the situation is very much similar to that of Jaliyanawalawag and the numbers of martyrs were also just second to jaliyanawalawag. Therefore Eram which is popularly known as Rakta Tirtha (The Pilgrim of Blood) after this unpleasant incident was truly designated as the Second Jaliyanawalawag of India.

The Martyrs are

  1. Pari Bewa , Eram, Basudebpur
  2. Gopal Chandra Das , Padhnuan
  3. Biswanath Das , Padhuan
  4. Bijuli Das , Padhuan
  5. Hrushikesh Behera , Padhuan
  6. Madan Palai , Padhuan
  7. Ballahaba Behera , Padhuan
  8. Magha Mahalika , Padhuan
  9. Bhua Majhi , Padhuan
  10. Kali ajhi , Padhuan Kumarpur
  11. Radhu ahalika , Padhuan Muladiha
  12. Dhruba Charana Dey , Padhuan
  13. Basudeb Sahu , Padhuan
  14. Hari Behera , Padhuan
  15. Dibakar Panigrahi , Guda Kesagadia
  16. Krushna Chandra Swain , Padhuan Kumarpur
  17. Bhaban Rout , Padhuan Nandapura
  18. Nidhi Mahalika , Padhuan
  19. Brundaban Panda , Padhuan
  20. Upa Mallika , Nuangan
  21. Krupasindhu Behera , Sankharu
  22. Rama Majhi , Padhuan Kumarpur
  23. Mani Behera , Padhuan
  24. Kati Sahu , Iswarapur
  25. Ratnakar Pani , Sudarsanpur
  26. Mani Pradhana , Suan Sudarsanpur
  27. Pari Das , Suan
  28. Sankar Mallika , Adhunan
  29. Gobinda Rout , Artungan


Sangrama Bhumi Bhadrak a book in Odia

Photo Gallery

  • Shaheed Smruti Samadhi
  • Shaheed Smruti Falaka
  • Shaheed Smruti , Eram

How to Reach:

By Air

Bhubaneswar, the Capital Of Odisha is the nearest Air port which is 200 km away from Eram.

By Train

The Nearest Railway Station is Bhadrak Railway Station, which is 70 KM away from Eram.

By Road

Eram is 70 KM away from Bhadrak Town, The District Head Quarter of the District.